Autor: Rebecca Mackenzie
ISBN-13: 9781472224200
Veröffentl: 28.01.2016
Einband: Taschenbuch
Seiten: 352
Gewicht: 458 g
Format: 233x154x30 mm
Sprache: Englisch

In a Land of Paper Gods

Sie erhalten für diesen Artikel

Bücher Thöne Punkte: 36

 Taschenbuch
Sofort lieferbar | * inkl. MwSt ggf. zzgl. Versandkosten
21,95 € 18,00 € *
A gorgeous literary debut in the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible about a school for the children of British missionaries in China, at the top of a mountain, at the edge of the Second World War
A gorgeous literary debut in the tradition of The Poisonwood Bible about a school for the children of British missionaries in China, at the top of a mountain, at the edge of the Second World War
For readers who loved The Poisonwood Bible and The Light Between Oceans, a heartbreaking story of a young girl's coming of age that is also a love letter to China.The pupils of Lushan School know that their parents love them - they're just too busy saving the souls of the Chinese to have them at their side. At the top of a remote, fabled mountain, the teachers have attempted to create a little outpost of the British Empire, but once the mists descend, it is all too easy for their charges to retreat into a world of fantasy where right and wrong are easily muddled. When precocious Etta's attempt to single herself out as a 'prophetess' result in tragic consequences for a young Chinese girl, she is painfully cast out, but not before the tide of history reaches the school, and the pupils find themselves prisoners of war.
Autor: Rebecca Mackenzie
Rebecca Mackenzie spent her childhood in Thailand, Malaysia and India. She has MA in Creative Writing from Royal Holloway. She lives in London. IN A LAND OF PAPER GODS is her first novel.

Zu diesem Artikel ist noch keine Rezension vorhanden.
Helfen sie anderen Besuchern und verfassen Sie selbst eine Rezension.

Schreiben Sie Ihre Meinung
und verdienen Sie sich 10 Bonuspunkte

> neue Rezension schreiben
 

Rezensionen

Autor: Rebecca Mackenzie
ISBN-13:: 9781472224200
ISBN: 1472224205
Erscheinungsjahr: 28.01.2016
Verlag: Headline
Gewicht: 458g
Seiten: 352
Sprache: Englisch
Sonstiges: Taschenbuch, 233x154x30 mm